Uber Rain

Our glorious (sarcasm) mayor has decided that Uber is not being “upfront” with it’s licensing practices here in our great city of Houston.

Honestly, I have not Ubered much in the last month.  Maybe 2 times.  I plan on using this as a summer job.  I really only have 5 weeks off in the summer and I have 2 of those 5 used up on vacations already.  So how can I really find a job for 3 weeks?  I can easily go and be an assistant principal at a summer school BUT I am tired of chasing thugs.  I am ready to get away from kids for those 5 weeks.

Each summer in the past I have worked at central office on different discipline and safety “stuff”.  I get paid $200 a day but my hours suck.  The atmosphere sucks at the office.  This is not too bad because its an extra $800 a week (we work Monday-Thursday) for 3 weeks.  So $2400 on top of my salary.  Great spending money.

So… I really don’t want to work there this summer.  I need a break.  So, I started thinking I could UBER again.  Maybe drive people into downtown in the morning.  Drive around the “surge” areas during the mornings and then grab some lunch.  I could make $100 a day maybe?  So it isn’t quiet $2400 but I could probably make $1500.  Plus add some weekend and night times again in May to reach $2500 or so…

Here is deal…

A Uber driver in Houston got arrested… read here

So now Uber de-activated all of our accounts if we have not registered with the city of Houston.  I don’t live in Houston but according to Uber, it does not matter.  So… I have been shut down.

Now we have to jump through the cities hoops to get registered:

  • get fingerprinted for $40
  • take drug test and physical $70
  • get city of Houston warrant check $20 (plus $5 to park)
  • buy fire extinguisher
  • take all forms down to courthouse and wait in line to get registered

No big deal right?

ha

I have a full time job!  So yesterday I left work and got fingerprinted.  Today I left work and got drug test (I passed in case you were curious) and physical.  I also got the warrant check!

Making progress in the rain!!

Leave a Reply

