Playoffs!

It has been a whirlwind of a week!  Soccer playoffs, new girlfriend, Easter, shopping, work, practice, etc…  Therefore, I have not had time to update my blog.  I want to… I have been thinking about it but just have not had the time.  Which is all good.

Lets break it down:

Soccer Playoffs:

The girls are playing tonight at 7 in the third round.  They have won the first two games.  I posted a blog before the 1st round here.

We blew out the first round with a 8-0 victory.  My little B scored 2 goals in that route.  R was bored in the back and didn’t let anyone take a shot the entire night.

The 2nd round was a tough game against a solid team from a town north of Houston.  Two of their players have verbal commitments to Texas A&M.  So what???  Our girls were a little intimidated at first.  Both my daughters came home and said that the team was down on themselves and they didn’t think they could win.  Luckily my oldest, R, started telling the girls “we can do this”.  (If you don’t know R was a freshman 2 years ago and our team went to state and lost in the semi-finals.  One of the top 4 teams in the state of Texas… so, she has been there.)

Game day.  It was a defensive battle and we went down 0-1.  I watched the body language of our team slouch and give up.  R yelled at her teammates to fire them up.  She ran out of position and sprinted past an opponent and blasted a ball at the half-way line into the goal box.  It was a moon-shot… This gave time for little B to run underneath it and collide with the goalkeeper and another defender taking them down to the turf as she headed the ball into the back of the net!  We were instantly tied and the girls did a “dog-pile” ontop of B.  Amazing…  Then the team loosened up and we scored another quick goal and then little B put another ball into the back of the net for a win of 3-1.

Little B was player of the week in the main Houston newspaper today.  Pretty impressive for a freshman.

Tonight we play another town’s team that we should beat.  They happen to be in our district and we have lost one and won one against them.  This is labeled the “rubber match”.

New Girlfriend:

Yes, I use the title.  It fits.  We are having a blast.  Meeting each other’s families, kids, friends, etc.. Laughing all the time… Watching movies and sports with each other… Just spending time enjoying each other’s company.  I’m excited and for the first time in a long time looking forward to the future.

Easter:

The new girlfriend and I went to church together.  Both of our kids were with their other parent.  So that was quite nice.  Then we all got together with my girls and went out to my parents for Easter Dinner of pulled pork sandwiches.  The girlfriend past the last test… My mother… lol

Work, etc.. all the same…

I’m off to route my girls on to victory!

4 thoughts on “Playoffs!

  1. Congrats on all accounts! I’m glad things are going so well. It’s a big thing when a significant other passes the mom test! And good luck to your girls in the playoffs! That is great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

