Worst Break-Ups

I have been dumped a few too many times.  Its hard buts it is true.  I have also dumped a few girls in my time.  Its not so hard but its true.

The other day one of my friends on facebook posted a picture of myself and my prom date.  We are talking a long time ago.  I looked so good.  My white top hat and cane.  Ice-Cream white tux.  Dude, I rocked the prom.

I remember I was dating a girl that was a year younger.  She was a prim and proper girl.  The type you date but just don’t bring to prom.  Prom is crazy, prom is wild… We had a beach house in Galveston that night.  You have to have a date who is allowed to stay out all night.  Or one that is good at sneaking out.

Well.  As a kid my father always used to tell me, “Don’t date any girl longer than 6 weeks in high school!  High school is for practicing.  You need to have some fun and bounce around.”  I should of never listened to this bit of advice.  Truthfully, he probably told me this after having 4 too many scotches. This was just some great sounding advice that he never imagined I would take.

My prom date was a good girl.  Beautiful, fun, cute, a cheerleader, with good parents, etc…  She was not allowed to attend the Galveston after-prom festivities.  This could not happen.  I had to figure out something and figure it out fast.  My first thought was to get her drunk and just take the limo to Galveston.  I soon realized that was a crappy idea.

I started convincing myself that she was a year younger and I was leaving in June for Arkansas.  Off to college I was heading.  She would be still in high school.  This could never work.

At the prom… I won “Class Wittiest”  This was no surprise.  I was angry that I did not win “Most Popular” but I have learned to live with it along with the help of some counselors.

We then hit the dance floor and did win best dancing couple of the night.  I never knew what our prize was.

Anyways…  I walked over the assistant principal and told him I was going to dump my girlfriend.  I then told him I needed his help.  I handed the AP $60 bucks and asked him to help her.  I then went to the payphone (no cell phones back then) and called a taxi cab.  I walked over to my girlfriend and said something along the lines, “Sorry babe, I’m too cool for school and we are through… Hop in that cab and good luck with the rest of your life.”  I can’t remember the exact words I said but I’m sure they sounded worse than that to my girlfriend.

I jumped in the limo and went to another girl’s house that was a little more frisky.  Threw rocks at her window and she snuck out to Galveston with me.

This is horrible.  This is cold.  But it is true.  I often think back to how horrible I was.  I think back to how devastated she was.

Paybacks are hell.  I hope I am a better person today…

10 thoughts on “Worst Break-Ups

  1. Half the battle is honesty with yourself. Not a one of us make it through this life without regrets. The key lies in acknowledging and then laying it down. (Says she who holds her guilt in a death grip waaay to often.:) )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wow. I know you are being serious, but I find this humorous. Poor girl, got dumped at prom. I wonder if she thinks of that night. Anyway, I guess I should reflect on some of my bitch moves I can’t say they’ll end, but awareness is always great.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think experience teaches us a lot, you were young and although I still dread break-ups and still do them badly I think I do them better than I used to. I’m sure it’s the same for you. (Also good to remember a story like that if you’re ever dumped, it’s not always personal, just time to move on.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow… That is … awful. Two thoughts, though: 1) You *are* a better person today. That’s why you feel badly about it now. 2) I know I’m probably going out on a limb here when I say this, but, given that this memory obviously still bothers you at least a *little* bit … Have you ever thought of reaching out? Some people can’t take an apology, but every once in awhile, a truly good one opens up doors to incredible places.

    Just sayin.’ 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

