Where has Christianity gone?

Every morning at work we say the Pledge of Allegiance and the Texas State Pledge.  Then we have a moment of silence.  A small victory for religion.  But very small.

Our society was based on a Christian model.  Our founding fathers were mostly protestant, religious men that ran from religious persecution.  They set out to make a country and a government for the people run by the people.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.–

The founding fathers knew that religion was a backbone of the new country.

these men professed a belief in God as the Creator of the universe and believed that religion encouraged a moral citizenry, which they deemed essential to the success of the new republic

Okay… that’s all fine and dandy but what I see in today’s country is that people have drifted away from this belief.  People are more interested in self-serving.  They feel they are entitled.  The feel they are only to please themselves.  For the most part….

Don’t get me wrong, I still believe there are good people out there.  I still think the fight is raging.

But we need to go back to helping each other.  We need to hold each other accountable.  We need to raise our children to do the same.  The kids I am seeing today are just above savage animals.  They spit, cuss, only want money and power, look for any easy way to take it.  Nothing is earned.  Nothing is worked for.  If they don’t get respect then they fight.

I’m worried this morning about the decay of values in America.

I’ll be better tomorrow.

I found this video and started thinking about this post from another blogger, http://rodgersthat.org/2015/02/11/thats-what-god-is-for/ .

I wonder what the world would be like if we let Jesus live through you and me?

5 thoughts on “Where has Christianity gone?

  1. I hear you, brother. I think I ask myself those questions nearly everyday. The only thing that ever helps me is to pray to let Jesus live through me that day, and thank God for the glimpses I get of Him in others. It’s hard to find at times, but it’s still there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kinda weird, i was just telling my parents this the other day. i was raised christian (i actually just had a recent post about the organized religion thing and my whole deal on it), but don’t really any longer. however, i told my parents that this country was founded on christianity and everyone, no matter what religion or beliefs they have should RESPECT that. we can’t say “GOD” in any school anymore (i work in one) and we don’t pray… don’t salute flags the way we did as I was growing up. i’m so confused on how this was allowed to change. if we have to respect others’ beliefs in their countries, why can’t all of america just respect that this was founded by christians???

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

