Be Like Mike

Summer of 1991.  I am a few weeks away from turning 21.  Living in Nacogdoches, Texas and attending Stephan F. Austin State University.  I spend most of my summer days listening to the Houston Astros like I posted here.  T and I are in love.

Chicago Bulls and Michael Jordan just won their 6th Championship. The entire world is learning who Michael Jordan #23 is.  The greatest and most competitive basketball player to ever set foot on a court.

I love Michael Jordan.  Watching him on the court is, still to this day, the best I have ever seen.  I imagine there will be nobody better.

Gatorade just decided to offer Mike 13.5 million as their 1st athletic sports star.

Gatorade decides to run a commercial called, Be Like Mike.  The song in the commercial is from the movie, The Jungle Book.  I still whistle it in my head…

Watching Jordan sitting in his red shirt during the commercial just laughing still brings back fun memories.  To me that commercial scene shows that Jordan was human.  He had fun.  He laughed.

After Jordan made the last second fade-away jumper to win the game.. He runs and jumps up pumping his fist.  That scene, that game… will always be etched in my brain.  Amazing.

This weekend during the NBA All-Star Game it will be the 50th Anniversary of Gatorade and they will release the original Be Like Mike advertisement that has been digitally mastered.

2 thoughts on “Be Like Mike

  1. Nice post, Chris. I don’t know who got the better deal, you or I. I was 11 and he inspired me in a way that I don’t think I would’ve accepted at 21. Here’s a post of mine he inspired. http://petedeakon.com/2013/06/25/how-to-be-the-best-ever/ (If you haven’t watched his speech, you absolutely must. I know the post comes across bitter, but I didn’t mean it bitterly, I just meant it honestly–from my experience.)

    Pete

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

