The Cry of Youth

The Cry of Youth

I usually try and stay away from writing about the topic of work.  I don’t want to mix my work life with my blog.  But this week has been extra, shall we say for lack of a better word, entertaining.

As some of you know I work at an alternative secondary school in the inner-city of Houston.  This campus houses all students 6-12 grade that break the law at the regular campus.  They make a bad decision and are sent to us.  Basically, their bad decisions just keep coming.

I was asking a friend the other night if she thinks there is a full moon out there this week.  The next day she asked me if I found out about the full moon.

My response, “I haven’t looked because I am afraid if there is NOT a full moon then I am going to be more depressed.”

The students this past week have been what we like to call, OFF THE CHAIN.  Kids cussing, shouting, fighting, turning over desks, walking out of classrooms and leaving the campus, etc.. etc…  It never stops.  What is great about it…. We are used to it.   Nothing a kid does will surprise me.

I innocently walked out of the main office going toward the cafeteria for lunch duty.  Out walks one of our star stellar students from the cafeteria.  He is steadily cussing one of the adults I have stationed in the cafeteria.  She asks me if I could handle SAID student.

spit

I explain to him that he is being sent to the in-school suspension room and he needs to turn and go their immediately.  Typical profanity laced response that he wasn’t doing anything we say.  He walks into  secretaries office and starts using the phone.  I follow him inside and tell him to hang up the phone.  More profanity….  He then throws the phone at me.  Luckily I duck.  Student then sweeps his arm across the secretaries desk sending papers, computer monitor, staple, etc… all on the ground.  Student then chooses additional profanity and spits a snot rocket right at me!  I try and duck with my Matrix type skills but the snotball hits me in the shoulder.  He then runs off like a little school girl, out the front door and sprints down the street in who knows what direction.

This bothered me.  I know I am on video tape everywhere so I can’t do what I really want to do because I like shelter and food.  Losing my job would put shelter and food in jeapordy.

What really bothered me was the smell that kept coming from my shirt.  I had to change into a borrowed student uniform white plain shirt.

spit 2

Living the Dream?  Listening to the Cry of Youth.

4 thoughts on “The Cry of Youth

Leave a Reply

