Motivational Words

Motivational Words

I find myself searching through YouTube lately.   It started when I started blogging again.  I look for good music, interesting videos, and mostly motivational videos.  You see, my youngest daughter B, is always asking me about old famous athletes and how they thought and prepared, etc…

B heard me talking to R about her playing style.  I was talking about a post I had on this blog a few days ago…  I often have compared R’s style of play to Craig Biggio.  Her uniform is always dirty, always going 100%, always throwing her body infront of the opponents.

B said, who do I play like Dad?  I said your mind is similar to Michael Jordan.   Jordan had to be perfect.  He needed to compete.  He had to compete.  She often watches his videos.  She once told me, “When I watch these videos I feel like I foul too much and hurt too many of the opponents.  I play like I am going to take off their heads.”

 …

I on the other hand, am having fun finding other types of motivation.  I ran across an old Navy Seal that gave a graduation speech at the University of Texas last year.  It was impressive.

Naval Adm. William H. McRaven, ninth commander of U.S. Special Operations Command, stood up at the podium in his Navy Dress Whites and expertly just nailed a speech that I want to be able to live by.

He outlines 10 lessons:

  1. If you want to change the world, start off by making your bed.
  2. If you want to change the world, find someone to help you paddle.  Find others that will help. You can’t do this alone.
  3. If you want to change the world, measure a person by the size of their heart, not the size of their flippers.  Judge everyone by their heart not their skin color, race, religion, or size.
  4. If you want to change the world get over being a sugar cookie and keep moving forward.  You will almost always make mistakes. Accept that and still work anyway.
  5. But if you want to change the world, don’t be afraid of the circuses.  You will fail.  You will likely fail often.  It will be painful.  It will be discouraging. At times it will test you to your very core
  6. If you want to change the world sometimes you have to slide down the obstacle head first.
  7. So, If you want to change the world, don’t back down from the sharks.
  8. If you want to change the world, you must be your very best in the darkest moment.
  9. So, if you want to change the world, start singing when you’re up to your neck in mud.  The power of hope helps all of us.
  10. If you want to change the world don’t ever, ever ring the bell.  Don’t ever quit trying.

Start each day with a task completed.

Find someone to help you through life.

Respect everyone.

Know that life is not fair and that you will fail often, but if take you take some risks, step up when the times are toughest, face down the bullies, lift up the downtrodden and never, ever give up—if you do these things, then next generation and the generations that follow will live in a world far better than the one we have today and—what started here will indeed have changed the world—for the better.

8 thoughts on “Motivational Words

  1. I listened to the whole video and at some point realized I had a tear running down my face. I will remember the stories behind each of the ten items. I encourage all to listen along with your blog. Thank you got the recap I can use as a reminder. I will retain your post and save this video until I’m done changing the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Let’s Change The World | Ms Toy Whisperer

  3. Pingback: Spotlight – Chris from Living the Dream | Zoe Ambler - Author

Leave a Reply

